Time to get cracking


With news of a really great result from the last leg of my Masters degree, the hard, grueling slog of the last two and a half years has been every bit worth it! I can’t begin to say how much I learned along the way and it’s only now that I feel the least bit confident as a writer. I suppose it’s no different from any other creative force within, where an artist constantly strives to do his or her best ever creation. Of-course, never quite doing so.

A large part of me needed to have that final confirmation from my lecturer, Dr Anthony Eaton PhD http://anthonyeaton.blogspot.com.au/  whose lectures, expertise and helpful feedback, gave me the tools I needed. I also want to thank my nieces and a few close friends who took the time to read my writing pieces and gave me such encouraging feedback. Anyway, now I can get on with final edits (who am I kidding, they never end!)  – btw Tony, I know what you mean about the semester from hell !!  🙂

Isn’t it funny how often this kind of thing happens? Just when you need something, there it is! And so here I am with an armory of tools handed to me personally (well, by cyber!) by way of an advance copy of the most comprehensive book around for authors wanting to self publish, APE: Author, Publisher and Entrepreneur – How to Publish a Book http://apethebook.com / by Guy Kawasaki and Shawn Welch. You can buy the e-book on Amazon http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00AGFU5VS . Remember, you don’t need a kindle to read it. Simply download the free kindle App from Amazon and you can read it on your PC or laptop. It works a treat!

Click to visit the original post

Again, a big thank you to Guy and Shawn! I’m now starting to feel excited about the possibility of publishing especially because my characters are becoming impatient. They each want to tell their story – and they will, bossy things that they are! 🙂

Please keep an eye out as I will post some of my work here and would very much appreciate your comments. Be as harsh as you like. All is welcome!……It will more than likely be from my children’s chapter books which I recently completed, though I have one individual chapter that is part of a pending chapter book for the younger independent reader. Oh, how I wish I could do my own illustrations. As tempting as it is, I must leave it to the experts! It’s only my impatience showing. I can’t help being curious, however, about creating my own covers using the tools at CreateSpace.

Meanwhile, I’m continuing with my travel narrative  and will most likely post the outline of that, too one of these days.:)   Your feedback will spur me on. 🙂

Mena

Leave a Reply

