Passwords, Apps… passwords and more Apps….


 

When did life on the internet become so cumbersome?? I’ve lost count of all the different sites and new passwords for each. At least I’ve now learned to store them all. I just spoke with a friend of mine who said she just found out that all the passwords she had stored on some cyber site, I think they’re called ‘clouds’ these days (there goes another dictionary update!) had disappeared. I was in disbelief that anyone would want to do that. Software means that someone owns it and monitors it. Having said this, I have become only too aware that these days, nothing, but nothing is safe or secure on the internet.
One can only make it harder for some hackers. Other than that, if people can get into NASA and other government departments, even banks, I won’t delude myself to believe that anything I have on my computer is ever really safe. Let’s not forget all the ‘Apps’, short for applications, that we end up storing on our computers that follow our every move as we surf the ever expanding net. Each time we accept a gift an App on FB (I don’t, I’m such a social media bore), or start a blog, an App – here an app, there an app, everywhere an app, app….the other day, I was working on a new web page when I discovered there was facility to create, then add a blog. How neat, I thought. Well, not really. I was cross, because only after I had clicked on the blog button, did a small window appear to inform me that this was an App from blah site. Great. I felt tricked. Now I have to find time to go back and remove said blog because it wasn’t what it was cracked up to be anyway, with the double whammy of having it follow me around everywhere I go.
Some great news amid all my complaining, and I don’t think I care if this software is an App or not, because it provides a lot of great stuff for the self-publisher!. Well, it seems to be that way. Smart cookies at that Amazing place, they have their own company, CreateSpace https://www.createspace.com/ that allows you and I to get into self-publishing of trad books on a per order basis. In creating an account, I also ended up logging into my normal account with the parent company, where I found three books sitting in my cart still waiting for payment. Nothing untoward had I just ordered the books, left the site and not gone to the check out. Except that I had…..gone to the checkout. About ten months ago! I have even made very good use of these books. So, after searching for about 10 minutes on how to contact these amazing folk, I was finally able to email customer service. I look forward to their explanation, as well as to find my cart empty!
Back to CreateSpace, it’s really cool how you can even create your own cover. So I got the ball rolling (pushy beggars, they don’t like to see you pause for too long) and gave my book a name (hopefully I can change it because I don’t like that one now) ‘Wiggly and Wobbly…’ about two clever but very bored wombats that go off exploring Grandpa’s disused burrow and all that follows. Great. By now I felt really productive. Until I got to the part where I had to input all my details on a form to set up how I want to receive all the royalties that will soon pour in from the far corners of the globe (gotta be positive!). I wasn’t a U.S, citizen so I ended up in the land where everyone else goes. Limbo Land. I didn’t find the instructions  particularly user friendly, but that could be just me and forms and following prompts and pressing buttons dotted about a web page. As a non-U.S. citizen, I understand that I still need to supply some tax ID but that is where they lost me. Another message to yet another customer service body. Hopefully it might turn out to be a really simple step so for now, all I can do is wait.
Oh, I forgot to mention that I also visited amazon’s brain child e-book publishing software for kindle. It looks like another fantastic tool. Once I can open up the download, that is. I must have downloaded about 10 different copies in case I was doing something wrong. – both in basic and advanced (I felt clever!) formats.  When I tried to use it by uploading a children’s book using their draft facility, I got a message that it wasn’t in the right format. What format was that??? More clicking….apparently in the e-pub or similar format. By this time it was nearly 1.00 am and my head was able to drop onto the keyboard!

To be revisited….

Mena

Leave a Reply

